of \$6,000; but if the Leader of the Government is in receipt of a salary under the Salaries Act, the annual allowance is not paid. Members of the House of Commons are paid a sessional allowance at the rate of \$8,000 per annum. In addition they receive \$2,000 as an expense allowance paid at the end of each calendar year. This allowance, except that for Ministers of the Crown and for the Leader of the Opposition in the House of Commons. is not subject to income tax. The remuneration of the Prime Minister is \$25,000 a year and of a Cabinet Minister and the Leader of the Opposition \$15,000 a year in addition to the sessional allowance and expense allowance each receives as a Member of Parliament. A Cabinet Minister is also entitled to a motor car allowance of \$2,000. of a Minister without Portfolio is \$7,500 a year in addition to the sessional allowance and expense allowance, the latter taxable. The Speaker of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Commons each receives, besides the sessional allowance and expense allowance, a salary of \$9,000 and a motor car allowance of \$1,000 and each is entitled to \$3,000 in lieu of a residence. The Deputy Speaker of the House of Commons receives a salary of \$6,000 and an allowance of \$1,500 in lieu of a residence. The Deputy Chairman of Committees receives an annual allowance of \$2,000. Parliamentary Secretaries to the Ministers of the Crown receive \$8,000 sessional allowance as Members of Parliament, \$4,000 a year as Parliamentary Secretaries and the \$2,000 expense allowance paid to all Members of Parliament.

The Federal Franchise.—The present federal franchise laws are contained in the Canada Elections Act (SC 1960, c. 39). The franchise is conferred upon all Canadian citizens or British subjects, men and women, who have attained the age of 21 years, are ordinarily resident in the electoral district on the date of the issue of the writ ordering an election and, in the case of British subjects other than Canadian citizens, have been ordinarily resident in Canada for twelve months prior to polling day at such election. Persons denied the right to vote are:—

- (1) the Chief Electoral Officer and the Assistant Chief Electoral Officer;
- (2) judges appointed by the Governor General in Council;
- (3) the returning officer for each electoral district;
- (4) persons undergoing punishment as inmates of any penal institution for the commission of any offence;
- (5) persons restrained of their liberty or deprived of the management of their property by reason of mental disease; and
- (6) persons disqualified under any law relating to the disqualification of electors for corrupt and illegal practices.

Prior to July 1, 1960, the list of persons denied the right to vote included "Indians ordinarily resident on an Indian reserve who were not members of His Majesty's Forces in World Wars I or II or who did not execute a waiver of exemption under the Indian Act from taxation on and in respect of personal property". Legislation proclaimed on the above-mentioned date confers upon all Indians who have attained the age of 21 years the right to vote at federal elections, without taking from them any of the rights and privileges to which they are entitled under the Indian Act.

The Canadian Forces Voting Rules set out in Schedule II to the Canada Elections Act prescribe voting procedure for members of the Armed Forces of Canada and also for veterans in receipt of treatment or domiciliary care in certain institutions.

Subsection 3.—The Judiciary

The Federal Judiciary

The Parliament of Canada is empowered by Sect. 101 of the British North America Act to provide from time to time for the constitution, maintenance and organization of a general Court of Appeal for Canada and for the establishment of any additional courts for the better administration of the laws of Canada. Under this provision, Parliament has established the Supreme Court of Canada, the Exchequer Court of Canada and certain miscellaneous courts.